Indian Super League Points Table 2016

ISL 2016 Points Table Latest

Indian Super League Points Table

Indian Super League Points Table Latest

ISL 2016 points table will be updated here match by match. The Indian Super League 2016 kick-starts this year again and here you can check out for the latest standings and the ISL points table.

ISL Team Standings

Updated points table of ISL 2016 is placed below;

Pos Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Mumbai City 14 6 5 3 16 8 8 23
2 Kerala Blasters 14 6 4 4 12 14 −2 22
3 Delhi Dynamos 14 5 6 3 27 17 10 21
4 Atlético de Kolkata 14 4 8 2 15 13 2 20
5 NorthEast United 14 5 3 6 14 14 0 18
6 Pune City 14 4 4 6 13 16 −3 16
7 Chennaiyin 14 3 6 5 20 25 −5 15
8 Goa 14 4 2 8 15 25 −10 14

Indian Super League debuted in 2014, as India finally got a domestic football competition which enthralled the spectators and garnered worldwide viewership.

ISL became the fourth most watched league in the world last year. That was a big accomplishment, considering it had to compete with the likes of English Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, Seria A, UEFA Champions League and other top competitions from across Europe and the world.

The tournament will kick off on October 1st with the final being played on December 18th. The format of the Indian Super League remains the same as the first edition. It is very similar to UEFA Champions League which uses the best of both the league and knock out formats.

The eight teams involved in the competition will initially play each other in a round robin league format. Every team will face the remaining seven teams in a home and away format, which makes it for compelling viewing as fans of every team have the chance to see their favorite stars from their competitors.

The league format will see a total of 56 matches played over the course of two months. The top four teams after the league matches will then face off in double-legged semi-finals with each team playing home and away. The first placed team would face off against the fourth best team while the second and third placed team will square up to reach the finals.

The first legs of the two semi-finals will take place on 10th and 11th December with the second leg on 13th and 14th December.

The final will be played between the winners of the two semi-finals at a neutral venue on December 18th. In all, there will be a total of 61 matches played in this year’s Indian Super League with each match starting at 7:00 pm IST.

During the league phase, the winner of a match will get three points while the loser gets zero points. In case of a tie, one point each is awarded to both the teams.

The rankings of the teams will be based on the total number of points garnered. If two or more teams are tied on the same number of points, it will then be decided based on the following criteria (in the given order):

  1. most number of points obtained in all league Matches;
  2. highest goal difference in all league Matches (goals score minus goals conceded);
  3. most number of goals scored in all league Matches.

In case the above criteria does not resolve the rankings, the following criteria will be used (in the given order):

  1. most number of points obtained in the league matches between the teams concerned;
  2. highest goal difference resulting from the league matches between the teams concerned;
  3. most number of away goals scored in the league matches between the teams concerned;
  4. drawing of lots by the governing body of the league.

In neither case will the head-to-head be considered to decide standings in case of two or more teams being tied on points.

The teams involved in this year’s edition will the same ones as last season and are the following in alphabetical order:

Atletico de Kolkata
Chennaiyin FC
Delhi Dynamos FC
FC Goa
FC Pune City
Kerala Blasters
Mumbai City FC
NorthEast United FC

Guwahati will host the opening ceremony of this year’s ISL and the first game will be a clash between two titans as NorthEast United take on Kerala Blasters at the former’s home ground in on Guwahati on the 1st of October.

If the buzz around this year’s edition of ISL is anything to go by, we can expect another great spectacle of sport as the countdown begins for the biggest football tournament in the country. Points table for Indian super league football is placed above.

1 comment… add one
  • joy singh October 11, 2016, 6:57 pm

    NorthEast United will be win 2016

Leave a Comment