ISL Draft 2015

ISL Players Draft Review

The Indian Super League draft 2015 was held on July 11 once the ISL player auction had been concluded on the same day. While 10 players will be auctioned, a total of 113 Indian players were up for grabs in the ISL draft and teams needed to be extremely shrewd in order to end up with the right combination of Indian players for the tournament. The second installment of the ISL football tournament will begin on October 3 later this year.

After the first time thrilling auction of 10 Indian players in the blockbuster Indian Super League, with all 10 players getting sold, there were 113 domestic players who were looking to be taken up by the franchisees in the players draft pick.

The draft had 15 goalkeepers, 35 defenders, 52 midfielders and 11 strikers to choose from.

With many teams having a busy pre-season, retaining and buying players from the open-market, a maximum of 40 players could be picked up in this year’s draft, with each player going for his base price.

The draft was done over seven rounds with each team nominating two representatives for the process. In every round each team, in an order which was pre-decided by a draw of lots on 9th July, were given five minutes to pick a player from the pool available.

In a twist to the normal draft pick process, an ‘Instant Trading Card’ option had been made available to the teams.

Once a team selects a player, another club can play their Instant Trading Card option by pressing a buzzer within 15 seconds of a player being chosen. This team, called the ‘Bidding Club’, will then negotiate with the team, known as ‘Holding Club’, which called the player originally. They will have three minutes to finalize an agreement else the Holding Club keeps the player.

If the negotiation is successful, any extra negotiated fee is pocketed by the Holding Club, and not the player who is paid the base price. Also, the Bidding Club’s next round’s turn will go to the Holding Club. The Instant Trading Card could be used twice by each team during the entire draft pick.

Atletico de Kolkata, by virtue of being drawn first to pick a player, kicked off proceedings by getting goalkeeper Amrinder Singh for Rs 4.5 lakh in round one.

The remaining order was Chennaiyin FC, FC Pune City, Kerela Blasters, NorthEast United, Mumbai City FC, Delhi Dynamos FC and FC Goa.

Highly rated left back, Keegan Pereira, was sold for the highest price of Rs 32 lakh to Mumbai City FC with midfielder Gurjinder Singh being the next highest purchase, going for Rs 27 lakh to Pune City FC.

In all, the Instant Trading Card was used six times with it only being successful negotiated once. Pune successfully negotiated with Holding Club Delhi for Fanai Lalrempuia, base price of Rs 1.8 lakh, for Rs 9.2 lakh.

At the end of the seven rounds of the draft, the following were the players bought by the eight franchisees to complete their quota of a minimum of 13 domestic players.

Atletico de Kolkata:

  • Amrinder Singh – Rs 4.5 lakh
  • Augustin Fernandes – Rs 26 lakh
  • Lalchhawnkima – Rs 9 lakh
  • Kunzang Bhutia – Rs 4 lakh

Chennaiyin FC:

  • Dhanpal Ganesh – Rs 9 lakh
  • Zakeer Mundampara – Rs 23 lakh
  • Lalhmangaihsanga Ralte – Rs 13.90 lakh
  • Justin Stephen – Rs 15 lakh
  • Nidhin Lal – Rs 16 lakh

FC Pune City:

  • Bikash Jairu – Rs 15 lakh
  • Gurjinder Kumar – Rs 27 lakh
  • Sushanth Mathew – Rs 8 lakh
  • Lalit Thapa – Rs 10 lakh
  • Govin Singh – Rs 8 lakh
  • Fanai Lalrempuia – Rs 9.2 lakh (base price – Rs. 1.8 lakh, Rs 8.4 lakh to Delhi Dynamos FC)

Kerela Blasters:

  • Cavin Lobo – Rs 20 lakh
  • Shankar Sampingiraj – Rs 10 lakh
  • CK Vineeth – Rs 15 lakh
  • Peter Carvalho – Rs 12 lakh

NorthEast United:

  • Lalthuammawia Ralte – Rs 13.90 lakh
  • Siam Hanghal – Rs 8.34 lakh
  • Reagan Singh – Rs 13 lakh
  • Raju Yumnam – Rs 10 lakh
  • Marlangki Suting – Rs 9 lakh
  • Zohmingliana Ralte – Rs 9 lakh

Mumbai City FC:

  • Brandon Fernandes – Rs 12 lakh
  • Lalchhuanmawia Fanai – Rs 15 lakh
  • Debjit Majumder – Rs 15 lakh
  • Ashutosh Mehta – Rs 20 lakh
  • Keegan Pereira – Rs 34 lakh
  • Pratesh Shirodkar – Rs 16 lakh
  • Albino Gomes – Rs 10 lakh

Delhi Dynamos FC:

  • Naoba Singh – Rs 18 lakh
  • Sehnaj Singh – Rs 18 lakh
  • Ravi Kumar – Rs 10 lakh
  • Prabir Das – Rs 12.5 lakh
  • Zodingliana Ralte – Rs 2 lakh
  • Gunashekar Vignesh – Rs 12 lakh

FC Goa:

  • Victorino Fernandes – Rs 16 lakh
  • Thongkosiem Haokip – Rs 1.8 lakh
0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment